In today’s world, where social media is an integral part of our everyday lives, we tend to lose track of the time, as we endlessly scroll through posts on Facebook. With the rise of social media, there has been a major increase in unproductivity rates, especially in the workplace. Many employees use the Internet for personal use while pretending to do legitimate work. This can cause bigger businesses to lose up to $35 million each year.
If you think your productivity has been suffering because of the excessive use of Facebook, consider temporarily deactivating your account or permanently deleting it.
Step #1: Go to settings and click on “Your Facebook Information.” Then, choose the option to view the “Deactivation and Detention.”
Step #2: After clicking on the “Deactivation and Detention”, you will be asked whether you want to temporarily deactivate your account or permanently delete it.
Step #3: If you choose to permanently delete your account, do not forget to download your information, such as personal photos, posts, etc. Remember that once you delete it, you will not be able to reactivate it.
Facebook was not designed to affect our productivity. In fact, it was built on a mission “to give people the power to build community and bring the world closer together.” It is our personal responsibility to use it in moderation and not prioritize it over work. If you want to do more productive things on the Internet, check out our How to Use the Internet Series.