How to Use the Internet

Watch our videos on how to start really using the Internet.

Try CloudApp for Free

With messaging platforms, such as Slack, communicating with team members in the workplace has become far easier. Slack, and other messaging platforms are great for quickly sharing documents, integrating tools, voice calling or tagging coworker, or providing some feedback right from your computer or mobile device. However, too many messages that are not pertinent to your job can be extremely distracting and detrimental to your productivity. This is especially true if you’re in an office with several departments, a constant flow of projects, and Slack channels dedicated to each. If that’s the case, you might be wondering how to archive a Slack channel that is no longer active.

Maybe you have been working on a project for the past few months, and it’s just been completed. If you had created a Slack channel dedicated to that project, knowing how to archive a Slack channel will help declutter your Slack channels. So let’s get started! 

archive a Slack channel
Archive Slack channels that are distracting or no longer relevant.


Source: Slack.com

How to archive a Slack channel

Slack channels are great for cultivating a collaborative and healthy work environment, and to stay connected with your team members throughout the workday. Anyone who works closely with a team knows working well with your team requires clear and open communication. However, if you have a channel that won’t be used anymore and you want to clean up your Slack messenger, archive it. The channel can be unarchived later. However, it’s important to note that everyone, except the person who has archived the channel, will have been removed.  

Archive a Slack channel

To begin with, open your Slack messenger and locate the Slack channel you want to archive. Select the Slack channel that you want to archive. Click the gear for channel settings and select additional options. 

Archive this channel

On the following page, you have 4 options to choose from. Click, archive this channel. Here, you can choose to either cancel your request, or to archive the Slack channel. 

Here’s what will happen when you archive a Slack channel:

  • No one will be able to send messages to it
  • Apps installed in this channel will be disabled
  • A message will be posted that you archived the channel
  • Messages from archived channels will still show up in search and archives, the same way they do today. 
  • It will be deleted from your list of channels when you open Slack messenger
  • You can unarchive a channel at any point

In certain circumsntaces, this may not be an option and an admin will have to archive it. If you created it, you should be able to archive it. 

 how to archive a Slack channel
If you have a Slack channel that won’t be used anymore, archive it.


Browse an archived Slack channel

If you want to know more than just how to archive a Slack channel, because you may still want to reference it. Open your Slack messenger, click channels, and you can browse all channels that are currently active, as well as an archived Slack channel. Using the drop-down menu, select, show: archived channels.

Slack’s mission is to make work-life simpler, more pleasant, and more productive. This is exactly why Slack offers a variety of options to customize Slack. Now that you know how to archive a Slack channel, you can customize your channels, and monitor messages as you see fit. Knowing how to archive a Slack channel that is either distracting, or irrelevant to your work, will help you streamline your workflow and remain connected with your team. 

Want to learn more tips and tricks? Check out the rest of our How to Use the Internet Series. This YouTube series of short video demonstrations are designed to teach users various online skills through visual storytelling, like creating GIFs, how to embed image in email, and more. Whether you are an office worker that neede help with Slack or you’re teaching your parents about their new Android phone, we've got you covered!


Trusted by thousands of businesses and over 3 million people

Salesforce logo